Rancorous Primaries: Angry Protesters Shut Down APC National Secretariat

Protesters from different states of the federation shut down the National Secretariat of the All Progressives Congress, APC to protest the alleged imposition of candidates during the just concluded National Assembly primaries.

The protesters came from Kano, Nasarawa, Niger, Jigawa and Enugu states were at the party secretariat, on Monday, to register their displeasure over what some of them described as the imposition of candidates.

Another group of protesters under the aegis of Awareness for Good Leadership, Peace and Development from Enugu State staged a peaceful protest in front of the party’s national secretariat.

They alleged that malpractices marred the conduct of the exercise in Awgu South constituency of Enugu South.

The Spokesman for the group, Dr Emeka Osaac,  said, “As members of the APC who actively participated in the primary election in the above-named constituency in Enugu State, we didn’t witness any election in the above-named constituency.”

Also, party members from Kano State who claimed to be supporters of President Muhammadu Buhari’s Special Assistant on National Assembly Matters (House of Reps), Kawu Sumaila, besieged the secretariat to protest the return ticket given to the senator representing Kano South Senatorial District, Kabiru Gaya.

Gaya was declared the winner of the primary election conducted across the 16 local governments, 171 wards which make up Kano South Senatorial District.

The protesters led by Muhammad Awwal Kofa, alleged that the exercise which produced Gaya was rigged.

Kofa said, “The primary election in Kano State was not conducted by the electoral panel sent by the National Headquarters and the result was not announced by the appropriate official legally.

“The election was rigged and a false result was announced. This election process was entirely in contravention of our party’s guidelines and constitution.”

The National Chairman of the APC, Adams Oshiomhole had earleir inaugurated a National Appeal Committee for the party’s recently-conducted presidential, the governorship and legislative primary elections.

A former Edo State governor, Prof Oserheimen Osunbor, was named as chairman. Other members are Mike Ugwa (Secretary), Alhaji Musa Gwadabe,  Bashorun Reuben Famuyibo and Alhaji Abdulrahman Adamu.”

While inaugurating the committee, Oshiomhole, said, “The petitions are quite a lot. Look through them, identify the petitioners, and ensure you put a face to the petitions.

“There must be a fair hearing. The individuals mentioned in the petitions, call them. You must do what is just, bearing in mind the constitution of our party and the Electoral Act.”