Akeredolu Garners 2,458 Votes To Clinch APC Ticket, Oke Trails With 262 Votes – Complete News

The Ondo State Governor Rotimi Akeredolu (SAN) has won the governorship primary of the All Progressives Congress (APC) with a wide margin pulling 2,458 votes to defeat eight other aspirants that participated in the process.

Olusola Oke (SAN), came in distant second with 262 votes followed by Isaac Kekemeke who garnered 19 votes. Oke contested against the governor on the platform of Alliance for Democracy, AD in 2016.

The governor won in all the 18 local governments in the state.

Olayide Adelami and Nathaniel Adojutelegan polled four votes each while Mrs. Jumoke Anifowose scored two votes. Ambassador Olusola Iji polled nine votes. Jimi Odimayo Ifeoluwa Oyedele and Segun Abraham stood down for Akeredolu on Sunday.

Declaring Akeredolu winner of the primary election, the chairman of the election committee, Governor Yahaya Bello said a total of 3,016 delegates were accredited for the exercise while total votes cast stood at 2,793. Of the number, 2, 760 votes were valid while 33 were declared as invalid. 

The primary, which was held at the Ondo State International Cultural and Event Centre, started exactly 2:00 pm on Monday and ended 1:00 am Tuesday. Accreditation commenced 11:00 am.